This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m so glad I found a place like this here in Tokyo. Ura-Harajuku means something like the back of Harajuku, and it’s quite a contrast to those crowded shopping places there. This lovely little area is really laid-back, it is very green, actually there was a little house with a tree that went right through it (see above). Amazing. There are a lot of little cafés, second-hand shops and small design labels. And you find heaps of graffitis, tags and stickers everywhere, which is quite unusual for Tokyo (in most areas you won’t find them, don’t know why). The heart of Ura-Harajuku is probably the Design Festa Gallery, I will post some pictures of it later this week.

I think I really fell in love with this place, it actually reminds me a bit of Leipzig. There are no crowds here, no bustle and no rushes – but just so many little things to discover on a restorative Sunday afternoon walk. Such a relief!

